ACT  |   NSW  |   NT  |   QLD  |   SA  |   TAS  |   VIC  |   WA

Professional Excellence Award winners

Katrina Williams, FACP
7 December 2016  

Queensland Branch Council recently welcomed members to the 2016 QLD Branch Members’ Dinner and Professional Excellence Awards. An evening of networking, entertainment and celebration was enjoyed by all attendees.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the 17th QLD Branch Awards for Professional Excellence. Congratulations to this year’s award winners:

Contribution to Physiotherapy Research
Dr Leanne Johnston, APAM

This award recognises a member’s outstanding contribution to physiotherapy research that benefits the public and/or professional community.

Contribution to the APA by a Recent Graduate
Luke Churchill, APAM

This award recognises a recently graduated physiotherapist who has given prominent contributions to the profession and the APA.

Contribution to an APA National Group
Meg Moller, APAM

This award recognises the tireless efforts of members of any national group across QLD. The recipient has provided outstanding contributions to their particular group.

Contribution to the Promotion of the Profession
Nick Marshall, APAM

This award is presented to a physiotherapist who has provided outstanding service to the public relations and marketing of the physiotherapy profession and the association.

APA QLD Branch President’s Award
Dr Richard Newsham-West, APA Musculoskeletal Physiotherapist, and Professor Nancy Low Choy, APAM

This award is presented to an APA member who has made an outstanding contribution to the APA through involvement in committees, activities and events at a local, national and/ or international level for the benefit of the profession.

Thank you to all QLD members for helping make 2016 such a successful year. On behalf of the QLD Branch Council and the team in our QLD office, I wish all our members and their families a very happy festive season and a prosperous New Year. I hope to see you at one of the many APA events in 2017. 

The 2016 QLD Branch Members’ Dinner and Professional Excellence Awards winners: (l-to-r) Sam Thompson (Hesta), Nick Marshall (award winner), Leanne Johnston (award winner), Nancy Low Choy (award winner), Luke Churchill (award winner), Katrina Williams (Branch President), Richard Newsham-West (award winner) and Bronwyn Barling (Hesta). 


   Nominations for QLD Branch Awards open
  Do you know a physiotherapist colleague deserving of recognition? Nominate them for an award before 26 August.
   WHO-WPRO gathers in Brisbane
  The World Health Organization Western Pacific Region held its 68th meeting in Brisbane, and Katrina Williams, FACP, was invited to observe.
   Physios weigh-in on the workers' compensation system
  APA Occupational Health Physiotherapist Matthew Forner and Specialist Musculoskeletal Physiotherapist David Brentnall presented at the 19th Annual National Workers' Compensation Summit in Sydney. Matthew and David advocated strongly for physiotherapy
   Hearing for balance: have your say
  The Australian Government recently launched its Inquiry into the Hearing Health and Wellbeing of Australia, and is calling for opinions and proposals.
View all