World Confederation for Physical Therapy

Founded in 1951, the World Confederation for Physical Therapy (WCPT) is the sole international voice for physical therapy, representing more than 350 000 physical therapists worldwide through its 112 member organisations.

WCPT also has several sub-groups that are independent organisations in their own right, representing specific areas of physiotherapy. There are currently 12 sub-groups of WCPT.

WCPT operates as a non-profit organisation and is registered as a charity in the UK.

Australian physiotherapists have extensive relationships with WCPT through the APA, which is a member organisation of the WCPT, and through individual physiotherapists who sit on WCPT committees and other bodies.

The current list of Australian representatives on WCPT sub-groups is:

Sophie Heywood Aquatic Physical Therapy International
Jonathan Wray International Acupuncture Association of Physical Therapists
Brooke Marsh International Association of Physical Therapists in Animal Practice
Stephanie Fu International Association of Physical Therapists Working with Older People
Amy Fagan International Federation of Orthopaedic Manipulative Physical Therapists
Jo Connaughton International Federation of Physical Therapists in Mental Health
Maria Constantinou International Federation of Sports Physical Therapy
Sheila Lennon-Fraser International Neurological Physical Therapy Association
Sonia Scharfbillig, Robyn Willcock, Heather Pierce International Organization of Physical Therapists in Women's Health
Anna Lee International Private Physical Therapy Association