The 2017 Mary Elizabeth Morley Prize is now open

The Physiotherapy Research Foundation is pleased to call for nominations for the second and final Mary Elizabeth Morley Prize. A single prize of $2,500 will be awarded to a final year Honours or PhD student from the University of South Australia, University of Adelaide or Flinders University who has authored the most significant piece of original research in the field of Neurological Physiotherapy on the advice of the judging panel nominated by the Physiotherapy Research Foundation.

Mary Morley was an inaugural graduate of the University of Adelaide’s Diploma of Physiotherapy in 1946. She worked for over 45 years in both public and private practice. She was an active and long serving member of the SA APA Branch, joining in 1947. She served on the Committee for a number of years during the 1950s and 1960s, including serving as an Honorary Secretary. Following her passing in November 2015, she has generously provided funding to the Physiotherapy Research Foundation to award two prizes, one in 2016 and one in 2017.

Conditions for applicants

The research must have been conducted wholly or substantially in South Australia.

To be eligible for the 2017 prize, the research work must have been published, or accepted for publication in a reference journal within the 12 month period of 31 October 2016 to 31 October 2017.

Where the work represents the collaborative effort of more than one person, the Prize may be awarded to more than one person and in such case the Prize will be shared equally between those persons.

The criteria are:

  • the quality of the research work;
  • the originality of the work;
  • the importance of the work as making the most significant contribution to advancing Neurological Physiotherapy through research.
  • the applicant must be a current member of the Australian Physiotherapy Association.

Application form and guidelines:

General information and guidelines for applicants  |  Application form  | 

For more information, contact the PRF at (03) 9092 0852 or email us.

The closing date for applications is Friday 3 November 2017, by 3 pm ACDT. Late applications will not be accepted.

Our Grants

The PRF is pleased to announce the 2017 Grants Program will feature two new categories, Project Grants and Travel bursaries, alongside our successful Seeding Grant scheme. Discover our grants below:

Seeding Grants are for new researchers working on new or established clinical research projects. The purpose of these grants is to help new researchers begin a research career. Applications for 2017 are now closed. 

Project Grants are for researchers working on new or established research projects. These will replace the former Tagged Grant scheme, and are open to Physiotherapy researchers of all levels of experience. There will be two grants of $17,000 each available. Applications for 2017 are now closed. 

Beryl Haynes Memorial Fund Grant is offered for clinical research conducted in Tasmania. The research can relate to any area of physiotherapy practice and the grant will be awarded on the basis of scientific merit and the relevance of the research. Projects that can show a benefit to the Tasmanian community will be given precedence. There will be one grant of $10,000 offered in 2017. Applications for 2017 are now closed.

Travel bursaries will be offered in 2017 for PRF recipients to attend the APA Conference in Sydney in October to present their research. Applications for 2017 are now closed.

2016 Tagged Grant winners >